I regretted not documenting how my birthday was last year. So I’m making sure I do that for this year.

I was anxious because I thought I would just sit here in my apartment all day. But I kept myself busy I guess.

Phonecalls and texts. Call me lame and cheesy, but I’m old school. I like getting these things. My favorite ones are the ones from the Philippines. They were all very sweet. 
“My birthday prayer for you. May you continue to bless others as God blesses you, have strength, wisdom, and a heart that continually delights in serving Him. Happy birthday!” – Daddy Jerry, Mommy Agnes

“Let this beautiful day give you joy as God provides for all your needs. And may He bless you and your day with answered prayers and blessings abound. God gives gifts of love through people like you. May all your days be as special as the memories you create in the hearts of those you touch and cared for. The Lord never fails to give us new blessings every time we wake up. Waking up alive and well is already a miracle! A blessing we owe to Him. Happy Birthday!” -Tita Christy

And the phonecall from Shilay really, really made my day, too. And of course the text from Nanay. I miss them, a lot.

Honorable mention: 
“Happy Birthday, girl! Glad you were born so I could know you! :)” – Melissa 

Mass, 7am and 12noon. How else am I supposed to start my birthday? Of course I gotta give thanks. And once is most definitely not enough. I am so incredibly blessed, sometimes it’s unbelievable. And sometimes it’s easy to forget.

Julianna. I visited her. Three times. What can I say? That little girl stole my heart.

Jacques. Getting inspired, being grateful, learning how to give the best patient care. We talked about our life goals, and it made me think of mine. I know I like Pediatric nursing, but nothing is ever set in stone. Maybe I’ll end up in Med-Surg again, or ICU, or ED. Or become an NP. I don’t know. But it doesn’t matter. Because I just want to be the best nurse I can be. My goal is to not lose sight of my purpose: That in everything that I do, I’m doing it for the greater glory of His name.

Lunch with Micahel. He hasn’t changed. Sweet, charming, and funny. But he looked so tired. I felt so bad for him. It was really nice to see him again in person. YMCA.

Scrubs and nap. I mean, my two favorite things in the world. 

Dinner. Broadway Diner. I got the Broadway Feast, as featured on The Food Network. 😉 We were there for three hours. Oh my. 

Me: My shrimp can give birth to your shrimp……. Do shrimps lay eggs?
Jessi: (looks it up) Oh… They’re like yeast.
Me: They expand?
Jessi: (Facepalm) No… They can switch genders. From female to male, and from male to female.
Me: Much like the prostitutes on Baltimore Street. 

Cake and presents. Jessi, Faith, Anthony, Charmaine, and Andrew. They were all here in our apartment. They sang Happy birthday to me – which I haven’t experienced in YEARS. We gobbled down some BTS cake. 

Me: So… is it really BTS, you guys?
Faith: I mean… I wouldn’t know?

We then opened presents. Faith got me a Pick Me Up Care Package complete with chocolate, Crazy, Stupid Love DVD, Seventeen magazine with JBiebs, Augustana’s self-titled, White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies, and of course, three Smirnoff Ice. I got iced. So, Charmaine, Faith, and I chugged. For the first time, ever. Needless to say, we all felt sick afterwards. Gross. Jessi and Charmaine got me a Testudo Pillowpet, which I love. And of course, the One Direction CD. Haha. 🙂 

It was one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had. Again, I am so blessed with a loving family and group of friends.

Leave a Reply

