King Carey

There are very few days I can call perfect without even getting out of my pajamas.

When I heard the urgency in your voice when you said my name, I knew something was happening. I wasn’t quite sure if it was good or bad. But I knew it was something I had to pay attention to. You nearly tripped down the stairs trying to come down and talk to me while holding your phone.

And then you simply said, “I got in.”

I didn’t understand it at first. For a split second I dumbly thought, “You got inside where?” And when I saw your face – your eyes wide, your face expecting, your arms up like they’re holding you in balance (when I’m sure you’re entire world was spinning at that moment), I knew what you meant.

Then I hugged you, even when it felt like a hug wasn’t going to be good enough. Even when I slammed my body onto yours and wrapped my arms around your neck so tight I was worried you weren’t breathing.  I hugged you with all I had, because it was all I had. And when I saw you were crying, my heart broke. My heart ached. My heart exploded into a million tiny pieces.  Seeing you so happy made me so incredibly happy.

While you told my roommates about the email and about you applying, I was still in disbelief. I was in complete and utter disbelief. It wasn’t because I doubted you. No. I believed that you were more than good enough for this. I believed that you were meant for great things. I believe that like I believe that the sun will rise in the East and set in the West. I was in disbelief because this is real life, and sometimes we don’t always get what we want. This is real life, and sometimes people don’t get what they deserve. And baby, you deserved this so much.  You talked about the good news with a hint of disbelief, too. And we both felt it. It was so amazing that it was too good to be true.

I caught myself staring into space and shaking my head a lot that day. I was mesmerized by the fact that you are one step closer to living your dream. I was so proud of you, so proud of your accomplishment like it was my own.

That was one of the happiest I’ve ever seen you. And that was hands down the happiest I have been for someone else. I didn’t want to sleep because my mind was still racing from endless possibilities, from things we need to figure out, to future plans in the city. But my body was failing me.

And you laid me down, like you’ve done so many times before. But there was a certain excitement that we both couldn’t contain. It was more electric and more frantic than usual. And that frenzy made the afterglow that much more calming and soothing.

You held me tight as I drifted off. There was something about your kisses that day. There was something special about how you gently kissed my cheek as I let my exhaustion hit me. Maybe I was tired and for so long I have dreamed about coming home to you after working hard that your kisses were a necessity for me to rest. Or maybe your kisses were filled with extra passion that nothing was ever enough. I could not have been more in love with you.

It’s very rare when I have a perfect day without even putting real clothes on.

Leave a Reply

